Here’s Why You Should Share Your Expertise With Others

It benefits others, but benefits you even more

Linda Smith
3 min readMar 18, 2021

A few years ago, I wrote a post on my blog all about how to best use Pinterest as a blogger.

Pinterest, at the time, was my blog’s main traffic source, and I wrote a comprehensive post sharing exactly how I use the platform to receive maximum traffic and engagement. I shared numbers, stats, and income.

Not long after, a fellow blogger friend questioned whether this was a smart idea. Her point was a fair one: “You’ve worked hard to gain your expertise in this area. Now you’re just helping your possible competitors.”

It was a common argument, and one I also stood behind early on in my work. I did work hard for my knowledge. None of it came easily to me. So, shouldn’t others have to put in the same hard work I did?

Counter-intuitively, though, in the past few years my thoughts on this changed course.

Now, I wholeheartedly believe it best to freely share my expertise, generously and often, in the areas I’ve gained a foothold in.

Furthermore, I’m here to encourage you to do the same. Here’s why.

Give and Take

--

--

Linda Smith

content creator | creative | coffee-enthusiast | Enneagram 9